Wednesday, January 18, 2006

Memoirs of the Geisha - Hatsumomo my dear

Since yesterday i went to watch "Memoirs of the Geisha" premiere, i might as well write something down. the movie is ok ok only, hollywood standard what, don't expect mediocre and also masterpiece lah... hahaha...

i personally quite like the opening scene, like i told my students today about treatment of a scene... the opening is about how these 2 sisters Satsu and Chiyo been sold to geisha house in Tokyo. the director chose night scene which is definitely suitable to portray certain uncanny and uncertainties. what is good about this opening scene is the direct employed a lot of tracking shots and follow shots, and more often the shots are shaky, bumpy and unstable. i doubt everyone will get nausead by watching that opening scene. moreover, the composition of the shots are normally tighter shot, especially when they reached Tokyo streets, through the lens we see lamp light, doors and houses, smokes etc... so throughout this scene, there's actually no room for us to breath or rest. all these design helps to create tension to audience, audience are forced to experience what the little girl has gone through - helplessness, loneliness, scared in a strange unknown world...

Another thing i like about the movie is the character Hatsumomo acted by Gong Li. Not only because of her superb acting skills, but the character design itself is very 3D. we cannot deny the fact that geishas, no matter how u want to portray them differently, are only prostitutes guised with their artistic appearance and dancing or singing skills. don't get me wrong i'm not having any prejudice about ppl who are in the "lust" industry, but being brought up in this kinda environment when money, luxuries, fighting for survival mean everything in this world, they cannot help but be shallow. Hatsumomo's character successfully reflects the real geisha, flesh and blood, with complete personal history of why she become someone evil, using strategies that only she thinks they are clever... the truth is, i am like Nobu, he got all the rights to hate geishas. let's face it, Memoirs of Geisha is after all kinda autobiography, when ppl tell you their story, they will kinda beautify the story here and there, even when i explain something to my parents, i will always make it a bit beneficial on my part. there is no wonder i doubt the character of Sayuri/Chiyo is really genuine...

But seriously i don't like the ending of the movie, it's too "happy ending" until it looks really fake and pretentious... well, the chairman will never never or can never accept Sayuri after so much things had happened. although the narration at the end kinda telling us that Sayuri can only be some substitute wife and can only be with the chairman after night falls, but i just can't stand the romantic cheesy scene when the chairman broke into tears and hug Sayuri.... it just... too... jarring!! sigh...

There are more to discuss... but time is golden and i've gotten better things to do now... hahahaha... see ya!

rating: 3/5 (worthed watching but don't expect too much, or go to watch it if it's free or if you have few extra dime to spend.) :P

white face scary!

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home